Skip to Content

Brattle Film Foundation logoThe Brattle Film Foundation celebrates film as a popular and fine art form with cultural and historic importance that excites, educates, and inspires community.

As the premier destination for repertory film in Greater Boston, the Brattle Film Foundation uses an international view of cinema to:

  • Enhance the movie-going experience through curated programming, community building, education, and the shared large-screen experience;
  • Recognize film as both popular and fine art with important cultural and historic value;
  • Show a diverse range of films that cannot and will not be shown anywhere else;
  • Ensure cinema is respected, viewed, and recognized alongside other great works of art; and
  • Enrich our audience’s understanding of cinema through diverse film programming, education, and information in the theater and online.

At a time when art houses and independent theatres continue to be consumed by large conglomerates, The Brattle Theatre has remained successful and true to its roots as a venue to see innovative and essential films. Starting with the programming of Cy Harvey and Bryant Halliday in 1953, The Brattle has been the unofficial film school for Boston-area residents, showing everything from Casablanca to Breaking the Waves, the works of Buster Keaton to Wong Kar-Wai. Over the years, The Brattle’s diverse programming has brought many films to view that might otherwise have been forgotten or missed.

Brattle Film Foundation Board

  • Ian Brownell
    Medford, MA
  • Jan Devereux
    Interim Senior Director of Public Relations & Communications, Boston Symphony Orchestra
    Cambridge, MA
  • Maya Escobar
    Belmont, MA
  • Kendra Gahagan
    Producer, Writer
    Somerville, MA
  • Edward Hinkle
    Creative Director, Co-Founder – Brattle Film Foundation
    Cambridge, MA
  • Rob Larsen – President 
    Senior Technology Architect – Eaton Vance
    Roslindale, MA
  • William Mendelsohn
    Vice President, Contract Negotiations – Skillsoft
    Littleton, MA
  • Jason Rhode
    Program Coordinator, MIT Election Data & Science Lab
    Somerville, MA
  • Maxwell D. Solet – Clerk
    Cambridge, MA
  • John A. Sten – Vice President
    Partner – Pierce Atwood
    Needham, MA
  • Christy Taylor – Treasurer
    Tax Managing Director – Deloitte Tax LLP
    Boston, MA
  • Stanley Twarog
    General Counsel – Nano-C, Inc.
    Cambridge, MA

Advisory Board

  • Brad Anderson
  • Miguel Arteta
  • Rebecca Harvey
  • Chuck Hogan
  • William Holodnak
  • Ted Hope
  • David Lynch
  • In memoriam: Albert Maysles, Gordon Willis
powered by Filmbot